No sense of taste

No sense of tasteDid you know that your tongue is picky?  I didn’t.  This diagram should be self explanatory.

Let’s talk about the whole taste thing.  Do you find that things you were forced to eat as a child, you do not like at all as an adult?  I do.  That’s how I feel about american cheese, especially those cheese singles that come wrapped individually in plastic.  Question? What sense of taste is that?  I don’t know, but I could do without that for good.

Now my wife, she is a junk food addict.  I don’t think she can go a day without something sweet or spicy.  Wait. Is spicy a taste?  Well to my wife it is and I guess to someone who can’t take their food too hot .  They would be like, “Aaah, that taste too spicy.”

I’m not a fan of sour things or salty.  Too much salt makes my head hurt anyway.  I don’t know, I like food but I think simple food can be just as extraordinary as something exotic.  Speaking of exotic.  What is umami?  My wife watches the food network and she doesn’t even know.  Maybe she missed that episode.  I guess I can do without that too until I do, and realize what’s missing and it’s that, then I ask for it back.

All in all, imagine not having to penny pinch when going out to eat.  Imagine not feeling like this:

prayer for money for taste

or this  good taste

 

That’s crazy, right.

Now imagine feeding the hungry because you’re financially stable and able and willing to help someone experience the tastes of life.  Well actually, people are experiencing the tastes of life.  Those two photos show the sourness of life. Life is spicy when it’s spontaneous and uncommon and adventurous.  Life is bitter when living in regret and unforgiveness.  No coincidence that the place of bitterness on the tongue is toward the back of the tongue.  You…you know, …

I can’t move forward and not know what umami is

Umami, a savory taste,[1][2][3] is one of the five basic tastes (together with sweetsourbitter and salty). A loanword from the Japanese (うま味?), umami can be translated as “pleasant savory taste”.[4] This particular writing was chosen by Professor Kikunae Ikeda from umai (うまい) “delicious” and mi (味) “taste”. The kanji 旨味 are used for a more general sense of a food as delicious.  People taste umami through receptors for glutamate, commonly found in its salt form as the food additive monosodium glutamate (MSG).[5] For that reason, scientists consider umami to be distinct from saltiness.

Okay, so I have no idea what they’re saying but maybe you, like me, will understand this:  umami chart                ripe tomatoes are rich in umami components  ripe tomatoes are rich in umami                                                                                                                                                                               components

Does that help?  Oh, I should have done the tongue thing.  Okay so let’s try this

umami- evenly distributed throughout the tongue

umami- evenly distributed throughout the tongue

So if this is what we should take from what umami is, then I guess I can’t do without this.  Not in its entirety anyway.

But going back to what I was saying without being here all day, let’s end with the sweet life.

Life is sweet when you’re not only able to live it up but to be a blessing to someone, enabling them to get a taste of abundance.

The New Millionaire’s Mindset is being a blessing, so somebody does not have to live with no sense of taste.


 

DAILY PROMPT

Picky Tongues
You have to choose one flavor that your sense of taste will no longer be able to distinguish. Sweet, sour, bitter, salty, umami, spicy (not a taste per se, but we’re generous): which one do you choose to lose?

Transitions

Flutter Pulp

Wandering Poet

A Matter of Taste

The Floral Bunny

 

2 thoughts on “No sense of taste

  1. I think we women are born this way: Just like your wife, I am in love with spicy food! Yes it is not a full fledged taste but sounds perfect to me. I cannot bear anything that is sour 😀
    Thanks for discussing details, I am sure this will help others in recognizing their desired taste.

    Like

Leave a Reply - Tx

